Our Board

George L. Ohrstrom II, Chairman, President, and Founder

George Ohrstrom II

  • Founder and Owner, Opequon Woodworks, a cabinet-making business, 1983-1998
  • Became involved in local land use issues in the early 90s, with a focus on natural resources protection
  • Chair, Clarke County Planning Commission
  • Co-Chair, The Piedmont Environmental Council
  • Chair, Clarke County Easement Authority
  • Member, Board and Executive Committee
    The Virginia League of Conservation Voters
  • President, Friends of the Shenandoah River

William R. Howard, Executive Director

Bill Howard

  • President, On Site Services, Inc., specializing in web technologies, business network solutions, and Apple™ computer systems consulting, 1987-present
  • Volunteer Administrator, Shepherdstown Presbyterian Church, 1998-2011
  • Executive Director, American A Cappella Alliance, 501(c)(3), 1995-2008
  • Member, Jefferson County (WV) Planning Commission, 1986-1988
  • President’s Board of Advisors, Shepherd University, 1992-1996
  • Presidential Search Committee, Shepherd University, 1996
  • Past President and Charter Member, Rotary Club of Shepherdstown
  • Founder and President, William R. Howard, Inc., historic restoration
    and construction management, Shepherdstown, WV, 1982-1990
  • Avid fly fisherman

    George Patterson

    George Patterson

George F. Patterson

  • Director of Photography, Barnyard Productions   Inc.
  • Director of Photography, “Great Museums” PBS High Definition Documentary Series, 16 episodes including The Library of Congress, The Metropolitan Museum, Museum of Modern Art, The National Zoo, Great Museums of Havana, The D-Day Museum, Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum
  • News and Documentary Cameraman, WCIV-TV Charleston, S.C. 1976-1979
  • News and Documentary Cameraman, WJLA-TV Washington, DC, 1979-1982
  • News Cameraman, ABC News, Washington, D.C., 1983-1988
  • Freelance News Cameraman, NBC News, 1992-2006
  • Independent feature documentary credits include “He Who is Blessed” and “Shenandoah: Voices of The River”

Richard Marzolf

G. Richard Marzolf, Board Member

  • Scientist emeritus, U S Geological Survey – Water Resources Discipline, 2004
  • Professor of Biology, Kansas State University, 1962-1988
  • Commonwealth Professor, Hancock Biological Sta., Kentucky 1988-91
  • Board Member, Water Science and Technology Board, National Research Council/National Academy of Science, 1986-1991
  • Director – Clark Co., Virginia, Lord Fairfax Soil and Water Conservation District, 2007 – 2012
  • Board Member, Friends of the Shenandoah River

Wingate E. MacKay-Smith, Board Member

Wingate MacKay-Smith

  • Member, Board and Executive Committee, Piedmont Environmental Council, 1983-2002
  • Member, Board and Executive Committee, Secretary of Piedmont Environmental Council, 1993-1994
  • Member, Clarke County Planning Commission, 1987-1990
  • Chair, Virginia Open Space Preservation Trust Fund Advisory Board, Region 1, 1997-2000
  • Member, Clarke County Board of Zoning Appeals, 1991-2004
  • Chair, Clarke County Easement Authority, 2002-present

David Grant, CPCU, CIC, Board Member

  • President, Independent Insurance Center, Leesburg and Winchester, Virginia
  • Risk Management Expert for vineyards and wineries throughout Virginia

Tom Wood, Ph.D., Board Member

Tom Wood

  • Ph.D. in Conservation Biology
  • Associate Professor (with tenure), George Mason University
  • Director, Environmental Studies on the Piedmont
  • Senior Associate, project SENCER (Science and Civic Engagement NSF Initiative)
  • Founding Director, Smithsonian Mason Semester.